Tutor Feedback and Reflection – Assignment 1

expressingyourvisionassignment1-doc

Following feedback from my tutor on “The Square Mile”, I have considered the comments made and reflected on my photography.

I have presented my work reasonably well and appear to be developing a personal voice.  The quality of my work was deemed competent with a grasp of how to communicate visual ideas.

I need to work on a number of areas, many of which I am aware of.  I do not take risks, I am not very imaginative in my photography although I have presented this set of images in a way that does not romanticise the seaside but shows the “tattier” edges.

I was aware that I have a habit of putting the subject in the centre of the shot and need to consciously think about the Rule of Thirds when composing my shots.  Some shots appear under exposed.  I do use the histogram when reviewing my shots but when I upload them they appear darker.  I need  to consider this when shooting.  All images for this assignment were taken on auto settings.

Following reading recommendations I have considered the semiotics of Denotation and Connotation in photography and will continue to use this when I am planning the next assignment or project.

In my shots I think there are a number where the denotation and connotation are evident.  For example the seaweed and coal shot suggests an industrial heritage and the girl playing on the beach alone could be emotionally interpreted as her having no friends or family or that she is happy with her own company.

Part of the North East faded industrial heritage

Part of the North East faded industrial heritage

A lone child playing on this glorious bit of golden sand

A lone child playing on this glorious bit of golden sand

Advertising images are a good example of the use of denotation and connotation.   The many images of sensual and attractive  women with the name or image of the product in the shot can lead the viewer to associate the product with improving their own attractiveness.  Tobacco advertisers used to use similar connotation methods buy using colours to denote wealth and richness e.g. purple and gold, or red for adventure.  I will try to think of these associations in future.

I have looked at the work of Tim Walker a photograher for Vogue magazine who stages his shots with creativity, romanticism, imagination and what I consider rather bizarre props.  At this stage it would not be the type of photography that I would consider but it has made me think about what art photography is all about.

I was aware that the creative and imaginative side of my photography was lacking and that is why I enrolled on this particular course.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

