Reflections on Assignment 3

 

Reflections using the assessment criteria assessment

Demonstration of technical skills

  • Equipment:
    • Cameras
      • Canon 5DMKIII
      • Lumix GX7
    • Lenses
      • Canon 25-104mm
      • Lumix Vario 45-200mm
      • Lumix Vario 14 -42mm
    • Settings
      • Aperture priority/Manual
      • Auto Focus

Composition

  • Using feedback from my tutor for Assignment 2 I extensively researched Street Photographers (See Research) and paid particular attention to composition. Especially, at Cabot’s Circus I took time to visualise the shot and how the shot might be framed.
  • I also looked to some contemporary Street Photographers for influence e.g. Vineet Vohra and Rui Palha for use of stairs and escalators, Brend Schaeffer, Valerie Jardin and Thomas Leuthard for lead in lines and the use of architecture. I have a long way to go but I feel that I have improved on previous attempts.
  • I thought hard about where to position myself and took most shots from a high position or a low position looking up. This worked to a greater or lesser extent especially those looking up (see Contact Sheets) however, what did help greatly was that I had more of an idea of what I wanted my shot to look like.
  • I was more patient (especially at Cabot’s Circus) in waiting for the shot to appear.
  • I used a shallow Depth of Field on the more candid shots.

Quality of outcome

  • I was much happier with the outcome of the shots compared with Assignment 2 composition improved and I visualised the outcome more.
  • However, a number of my shots lacked vibrancy and contrast and were a little under exposed when I downloaded them even though they and the histograms looked alright on the back of the camera. Therefore, I did some editing using Lightroom.  On two candid shots there was some distracting back ground (a yellow strip in one and a red sale banner in the other), I used Photoshop CC to reduce the impact of these on the shot.  I have a lot to learn in using the “digital darkroom”.  This is the first time I have attempted this type of editing and I am quite pleased with the results.
  • Printing was a nightmare. I used two local well respected printers and I was very disappointed with the results.  In one the contrast was way too high to the extent that it blew out highlights (I had already printed these at home on my Canon 100S printer and they were fine), the other was on low quality paper even though I had ordered them on high quality.  I therefore, decided to attempt to print them myself.  I still need to learn about how to resize photos that have been cropped but overall I was quite pleased with the quality.

Demonstration of Creativity

  • Feedback from Assignment 1 stated that I did not take risks, I feel that I have been riskier with this assignment but still have a long way to go.  I would love to emulate some of the photographers who obviously get down low the take some amazing shots but as yet I have not got the confidence to do so.
  • That said, I feel that the shots which include architecture and depth of field are more creative than previous shots and I have tried to tell a story in the shots using lead in lines and the rule of thirds to place important features.
  • I have learnt a lot about “The Decisive Moment” and what it means from the more received definition of Henri Cartier-Bresson to a more contemporary definition that would include the work of Diane Arbus. No matter what the approach I take I have learnt that the planning of the shoot is of utmost importance to capturing “the” shot.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

