Exercise 3.3 (Project 3 – What Matters is to Look)

1.  What do the timeframes of the camera actually look like? If you have a manual film camera, open the camera back (make sure there’s no film in the camera first!) and look through the shutter as you press the shutter release. What is the shortest duration in which your eyes can perceive a recognisable image.

Using an inherited 1960 Kodak 66 iii a self-erecting folding camera and an optical viewfinder.

The camera has a Kodak Anaston lens mounted in a with a Anaston 75mm, f4.5  lens with a 5 speed shutter (1/200, 1/100, 1/50, 1/25, 1/10 + B) and which used 120 film (12 exposures).  I set the camera on B to ascertain how the mechanism worked.  This camera has a telescope type optical view finder but does not have through the lens viewing.  I therefore, opened the back to and looked directly through the lens.

Kodak 66iii -001

Starting with the 1/200 setting and a wide open lens of f4.5 I worked through the shutter speeds and at 1/50 I had my first glimpse of the subject.  The camera also has a double exposure prevention setting and I had to remember to re-set the camera between each shot.  This involved setting the shutter lever and “winding on the film”.  At 1/8 the subject was clearly visible.

 

Kodak 66iii -012

2   Find a good viewpoint, perhaps fairly high up (an upstairs window might do) where you can see a wide view or panorama. Start by looking at the things closest to you in the foreground. Then pay attention to the details in the middle distance and, finally, the things towards the horizon. Now try and see the whole landscape together, from the foreground to horizon (you can move your eyes). Include the sky in your observation and try to see the whole visual field together, all in movement (there is always some movement). When you’ve got it, raise your camera and take a picture. Add the picture and a description of the process to your learning log.

For this part of the exercise I decided to experiment and incorporate the exercise into a trip to a shopping mall to begin shooting for the assignment.

I chose a first floor position looking down the mall and which had a large poppy installation in the centre.  My eye was drawn to the poppy installation and I decided to try to capture a panorama view  which included the installation.

 

_1100005

ISO 200, FL 27mm (4/5 crop sensor – 54mm full frame equivalent), f5.3, 1/100sec.

 

I focused first of all on the people going about their business in the foreground, and then on the middle distance of the platform and the poppy installation and finally on the glass roof and the arched architecture.  There was a walkway on the left hand side with lots of people on it.  This made the shot look very busy and my eye was distracted by this activity on this walk way so I moved as far as I could to the right and placed the poppies that I was originally drawn to on the left hand third.  I liked the contrast between the three areas so I raised the camera and took the shot.

In the editing phase I realised that I had some lens aberration and tried to correct it but this was difficult and when I got the vertical correct the horizontal was skewed.  This final edit is a compromise between the two.

The apex view beyond the poppies gives the impression that there is more to the shot and this was more apparent with the naked eye. In many ways the poppy installation actually changes the perspective of the mall and I would have liked in retrospect, to have tried another shot beyond the poppies as there were other cross platform walkways and I think that may have given a better view of the mall.

I realised the lighting between the foreground and the distance of the roof would be a challenge in terms of exposure but I managed to set the camera to avoid blowing out the highlights.

Overall I was quite pleased with the end shot.

This entry was posted in Coursework, Exercise 3.3, Part 3. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

