Tutor Feedback and Reflection – Assignment 2

OCA Wearn EYV02 13 Jan 16.doc

For Assignment 2 I chose crowds as my subject.  Big mistake.  I realised without doubt that street photography is not my forte.  That was confirmed by the feedback from my tutor.  Although, some shots were OK many (and I really knew this when I submitted them) were not well composed and the framing was not always satisfactory.

My tutor cites image 8 as an example of where the framing is detrimental to the shot.  I hadn’t even noticed how close the man in the right hand bottom corner was to the edge of the shot, so caught up was I in getting the shot of the boy climbing on the sculpture.  This until the feedback, had been one of my favoured shots!  I guess I’ve still got a lot to learn.

However, Image 5 was a better example of well composed crowd street photography with the eye being drawn into the man who is looking towards the woman who is purchasing an item from the stall.  I did think this was one of the better images too.

Having reviewed my submission following tutor feedback I feel that Image 4 is a particularly bad example of composition and Image 2 is not particularly well framed with my “spot Darth Vader” being tucked away at the bottom of the shot.

I have followed up my tutors recommendation of looking at Lee Friedland’s work and his use of reflections to frame his work.  I have also tried to emulate  this technique in my photography.  This is a shot I took on an unofficial study day to Bath.

20160123-_1080571

Overall the feedback has been very useful and has made me assess my approach to street photography.

 

 

This entry was posted in Assignment 2, ASSIGNMENTS, Tutor Feedback. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

